CONTACT US  Contact No.: (02) 807-8405 | 0977-8549632

  • News and Events

Manila’s who’s who in Asean Awards
  • IMG 7134
  • IMG 7135
Manila’s who’s who in business, industry and lifestyle attended the Asean Business Advisory Council Awards at Solaire Grand Casino and Resort Sept. 6. Forty-seven awardees were feted in the ceremony attended by President Duterte. Joey Concepcion is chair of the council.
“Today, we honor top entrepreneurs—many of whom started small. And today, we honor legacy awardees, many of whom we have all looked up to. For every awardee, this recognition must be put into good use. I call on the awardees today to embrace the micro and small entrepreneurs into your value chains,” Concepcion said as he opened the awarding ceremony.

Concepcion also emphasized the value of mentorship and inclusive business models in championing prosperity for all across the region.

The guests made up a virtual Forbes list of Asian business leaders as well as the most interesting women, youth and innovative entrepreneurs. A good number of government officials and members of the diplomatic corps came, with the Asean Economic Ministers led by Trade Secretary Ramon Lopez who will be honored by the Council. Mr. Duterte, in his speech, urged the Asean nations and business leaders to embrace micro-, small- and medium-size enterprises (MSMEs): “The Asean Business Advisory Council has been instrumental in realizing our common aspiration of serving the growth of our people. I call on entrepreneurs to follow their examples to become beacons of innovation for poverty eradication and economic development. We also challenge those who have achieved success to embrace the MSMEs.” More than 900 guests, 400 of them delegates who flew in from across Asia and beyond, attended the biggest awarding ceremony in Asean.

Among the business greats who attended were Legacy Awardees John Gokongwei (JG Summit) from the Philippines, Singapore’s Wee Cho Yaw (United Overseas Bank), and Malaysia’s Goh Peng Ooi (Silverlake Axis); Inclusive Business winner Jaime Zobel de Ayala (Ayala Philippines), Priority Integration Sector in Tourism winner Tony Fernandes (Air Asia) from Malaysia, Young Entrepreneur of the Year Dennis Uy (Chelsea Logistics Philippines), and Asean-BAC Philippines members George Barcelon (Philippine Chamber of Commerce Chair) and Teresita Sy-Coson (SM Investments Philippines).

The Asean Business Awards has consistently focused the spotlight on promising and outstanding Asean companies that have the potential of becoming global economic players. Attended yearly by the top business players in the region and beyond, the awards continue to propagate progress and business leadership.
Read more: Follow us: @inquirerdotnet on Twitter | inquirerdotnet on Facebook